sStrange world is today where people give themselves titles, upadhies of Satguru, Guru, or Brahma Ŕsï or Maha Ŕsï or have honoric names as per their choice while in reality none dared to claim titles earlier without passing through personal enlightenment  process by one’s efforts and action wherein the God’s and Divinities were more of facilitators and not as the sole provider of Salvation. All the paths of knowledge (Jnana), Action(Karma), Yoga (cosmic Union) were nothing but tools of attaining the goals of knowing the self.In the traditional form of gaining enlightenment it is known that penance was done to gain boons from the Trinities of Hindu Gods (Lord Shiva, Lord Vishnu and Lord Brahma) but they were never worshipped to gain anything material  nor were they idolized in any format except as a form of light.

Even the hierarchies had been clearly laid for the path and how they have evolve from one stage to another of attainment. Evolution began from the stage of a Sadhaka (seeker) and through penance one attained the stage of Pranava Rishi, passing through nearly 64 levels of Ŕsï’ s comprising of

  1. Mahaadi Ŕsï

  2. Mahakaal Ŕsï

  3. Kaal Ŕsï

  4. Brahmand Ŕsï

  5. Brahmakalp Ŕsï

  6. Pratikalpa Ŕsï

  7. Kalpadi Ŕsï

  8. Kalpa Ŕsï

  9. Samvrtakalpa Ŕsï

  10. Devadi Ŕsï

  11. Aghor Ŕsï

  12. Deva Ŕsï

  13. Satya Ŕsï

  14. Manvatar Ŕsï

  15. Aghoraghoratara Ŕsï

  16. Maitri Ŕsï

  17. Brahma Ŕsï

  18. Aghoracaksus Ŕsï

  19. Arga Ŕsï

  20. Kana Ŕsï

  21. Rajadhi Ŕsï

  22. Kapalamalin Ŕsï

  23. Tejistha Ŕsï

  24. Raja Ŕsï

  25. Mahat Ŕsï

  26. Maha Ŕsï

  27. Jivamukta Ŕsï

  28. Parama Ŕsï,

  29. Kanda Ŕsï

  30. Sutra Ŕsï

  31. Sruta Ŕsï

  32. Vipra Ŕsï

  33. Vipazayati Ŕsï

  34. Siddha Ŕsï

  35. Tapa Ŕsï

  36. Daanva Ŕsï

  37. Daitya Ŕsï

  38. Gandharva Ŕsï

  39. Pramujacati Ŕsï

  40. Indirayanigraha Ŕsï

  41. Jana Ŕsï

  42. Mantrakrit Ŕsï

  43. Kamandha Ŕsï

  44. Shukshmadrishti Ŕsï

  45. Antardrishti Ŕsï

  46. Anatahkaran Ŕsï

  47. Divyadrishti Ŕsï

  48. Mantrakritsama Ŕsï

  49. Kamandalava Ŕsï

  50. Grihastha Ŕsï

  51. Urdhvaretas Ŕsï

  52. Asramavasis Ŕsï

  53. Yayavaras Ŕsï

  54. Purohita- vrittikas Ŕsï

  55. Sadharana vrittikas Ŕsï

  56. Saastras adyapakas Ŕsï

  57. Sastras adhyapakas Ŕsï

  58. Samarambha Ŕsï

  59. Ugra tapasvis Ŕsï

  60. Stoka Ŕsï

  61. Spurata Ŕsï

  62. Mumuksa Ŕsï

  63. Sukumara Ŕsï

  64. Sadharana tapsvis Ŕsï

Where even the titles like Paramhamsa, Sadhu, Sanyasi, Swami, Acharya are only forming a miniscule part of the whole lineage of englithenment process. Most of Ŕsï’s were having family, and rarely follow the path of Brahmacharya as known today of remaining celibates or hiding the facts that they are married.


~Maitreya Rudrabhayananda

Published by Maitreya

Walking the path of self is a condition but being on the path of selflessness brings one about to the pathless way. Come on the way of knowing the way and in the process bring about a change within to get liberated.

One thought on “Rishi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: